ColossalCon 8 Live Blog – Gundam with Brad Swaile

Ok, let me just start out with some first impressions about Colossalcon 8.

I got to the information desk, which was probably the most helpful. They had a map and directed me to the registration which was just around the corner. I got a program/guidebook as soon as I registered, and started marking down all the things I wanted to see. One of the first things I wanted to attend was “Meet Dean Venture,” which I could not locate. Well, for starters there was not really a map in the guide, so I had a hard time finding Panel 1. After lots of roaming I could not find it and went back to the Registration booth. No one, NO ONE, in the registration booth had any idea where Panel 1 was. I had to walk back to the information booth before I could get a good map. The map showed Panel 1, but when I got there the room was labeled as “How to Anime RPG,” and then after talking to the guy who was sitting in front of Panel 2, I found that they had actually changed up the schedule some.

Heading back to the information booth I finally found the revised schedule. I wonder why the information booth staffer failed to inform me that there was a changed schedule when I picked up the map. So first impression is that the staff will not really go out of their way to make sure people know what’s going on.

All the confusion about the schedule led to me getting into the Brad Swaile event late, but he’s been heavily involved in a lot of voice acting. Even though the event was called “Gundam with Brad Swaile,” by the time I got there it ended up being more of a general Q&A for Brad about some of the roles he’s been involved in. There were still a few questions about Gundam, such as

Q: Who’s your favorite character?

A: Kira

Overall Brad is a really cool guy and I can easily tell that he really likes anime himself. He commented that a lot of conventions he goes to they keep him so busy he doesn’t even have time to go to the dealer’s room, which is good for his wallet. I would think that would be true considering he talked about getting 1/60 Gundam kits.

He talked about Transformers as well and how he totally hated the character he played (Kicker).

He dispelled the rumor that some of the Gundam Wing voice actors are not that close and said that most of the voice actors are extremely close and supportive.

Posted on June 5, 2009, in ColossalCon 2009, Conventions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

