descent’s Randomly Cool AMVs

Hey everyone, just dropping by to let you know that I am still alive. While schoolwork and fun have kept me from getting my work here up on time its nevertheless been an amazing anime and music-related weekend for me. I’ve did get the chance to watch the EPIC Haruhi Suzumiya movie (10/10), another excellent episode of Angel Beats which contained even more revelations and mystery, and while I might be late to the party I also watched the Miku Hatsune Giving Day Concert which was one helluva cool experience. The last was especially great cause after some skepticism I just had to come out an say to myself “what the hell, I like LOVE Vocaloid” and get over that particular stigma. I will have some reactions and analysis for all these coming later in the week but for now lets combine two of them to provide you with what I hope will be a new feature here on AI, “Randomly Cool AMVs”.  I will be putting up some AMVs I find interesting, neat, cute, ect each week so that you might find something new and enjoyable for yourself.

Let it be known that I am not by any means an avid AMV watcher or an “elitist” when it comes to quality or design. While some AMVs might be mind-blowingly well made they still don’t resonate with me if I can’t associate with anything in them. There are other times when you might something that lacks a bit in the synch and HD departments but is just so fitting you can’t help but like it. So for those of you who are also casual AMV fans I will try to provide some weekly links to something that might become your next personal favorite or simply a one time experience with a decently made being of anime-related media. (Yes both of the below videos are technically “MAD” but to me they are the same thing!!”.

So as I said before lets see what happens when you combine two of Miku Hatsune’s best songs with everyone’s favorite all-mighty schoolgirl, Haruhi Suzumiya. First off lets go with perhaps a “different” interpretation of what Haruhi is like set to Miku’s rather high-pitched but incredibly sweet “Melt” (with a little bit of help from one of her composers ryo of course):

And one whose lyrics are a little more fitting when it comes to Haruhi’s personality and her treatment of Kyon, also by the fabulous Miku, “World is Mine” (by ryo!):

(Personal Note: I love the way Miku holds her note pitch-perfect for a good 4-5 seconds about 3 minutes in, typically a feat used by an artist to show off their vocal ability, but it really is cheating when you are a Vocaloid. God I’m weird but its almost seems like a cute little in-joke to me.)

Well hopefully some of you will enjoy these two videos as much as I did. Look for more AI content coming throughout the week, good night!

Posted on April 18, 2010, in AMV and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

