Out of the Box: Exit Tunes Presents Vocaloanthems ft. Hatsune Miku

Good evening everyone! Tonight I’ll be bringing you guys a quick review of the unboxing of my most recent Vocaloid collectible. This might or might not be the start of a new type of article here on the blog so feel free to give some feedback if things like un-boxings, figure reviews, collectibles continue to interest you.

Yesterday I received my official first edition of Exit Tunes latest and highly anticipated Vocaloid Album release: “Exit Tunes Presents Vocaloanthems ft. Hatsune Miku. For those who are unaware, Exit Tunes is a Japanese record label which has released a several Vocaloid collaboration albums so far including the well known Supernova series. Their compilation album “Exit Tunes Presents Vocalogenesis” was the first Vocaloid album to have the distinction of topping the Japanese Oricon Sales Charts back in May. It is important to note that Exit Tunes is not the producer of any of the music found in the album. Given the very diverse nature of top Vocaloid songs and the plethora of producers who create them it is often necessary for labels like Exit Tunes to compile them into these type of albums for better sales success.  Its also fair to say that the title is also bit misleading, as not only does it feature the world’s most famous virtual diva, Miku Hatsune, but it also includes songs featuring the voices of Kaito, Ren Kagamine, Len Kagamine, Meiko, and even upgraded UTAU program Teto Kasane.

Follow me after the jump for some photos of the item, a look at the goodies that came with the 1st edition, and a review of the tracklist.

This is the cover art for the album. Not my favorite renditions of Miku or Luka (Rin is awesome looking though) but nevertheless its a great drawing by artist "Redjuice". The quality of the CD cover is also top notch.

The inside of the CD Lyrics Booklet, this page is just giving credit to the cover artist. Everything about this CD just felt quality. Especially for the reasonable price.

The inside of the case. As you can see the album art is reprised on the CD itself, as well as the booklet. I really love this illustration which features the entire Crypton Future Media Vocaloid Family (aka Miku, Luka, Rin, Meiko, Kaito, and Len).

A shot of one of the booklet pages containing lyrics for each song. In fact this page has the lyrics to the CD's bonus track which is actually a Teto Kasane song. For those who are unaware she is a freeware UTAU program, basically a lower quality Vocaloid, but one that has quickly been gaining popularity.

A closeup of the metal charm. (My cellphone camera was only thing functional that night, sorry lol.)

Now onto the music itself. Here is the Romanized tracklist:

01. Just Be Friends / Dixie Flatline feat. Megurine Luka
02. Kagamine Len no Bousou / cosMo feat. Kagamine Len
03. Wonderland to Hitsuji no Uta / hachi feat. Hatsune Miku
04. Ore no Roadroller da! / OyatsuP feat. Kagamine Rin and Len
05. More drive / LamazeP x azuma feat. Megurine Luka and Kagamine Rin
06. Picture Book 「Hitobashira Alice」 / IbitsuP feat. MEIKO, Kaito, Kagamine R&L, Hatsune Miku
07. Akujiki Musume Conchita / AkunoP feat. MEIKO
08. Hitori Kakurenbo / cosMo x DeadballP feat. Hatsune Miku
09. Tokiwasure Bito / ShigotoshiteP feat. KAITO
10. Sakurazensen Ijou Nashi / WataruP feat. Hatsune Miku
11. Eh? Aa, Sou. / papiyon feat. Hatsune Miku
12. Migikata no Chou / Noripy feat. Kagamine Rin
13. Melancholic / Junky feat. Kagamine Rin
14. SETSUNA / SHIKI feat. Hatsune Miku
15. Time Machine / 164 x 40mP feat. Hatsune Miku
16. Hayabusa / KisenonP feat. Hatsune Miku
17. Starduster / JimmythumbP feat. Hatsune Miku
18. Ochame Kinou -full version- / GojimajiP feat. Kasane Teto

I am intrigued by the approach Exit Tunes took in putting this album together. It really is an interesting mix of VERY recent hits (like Time Machine), assorted top songs from 2010, and even a few classics to round it all out, with an UTAU bonus song thrown in for good measure.

Lets first take a look at the albums most chronologically recent inclusion: “Time Machine” (Taimu Mashin) which is a beautiful collaboration by two of the best in the business, 164P and 40mP. The opening piano tune is enough to give you chills and this melancholic song is set against some featured art that really helps you arrive at a rather sad but touching interpretation of this song.

Another song worth noting (and one that has been seen on the blog before) is Melancholic (Merankorikku). Perhaps THE best Rin Kagamine song produced this year, courtesy of JunkyP. Definitely one of the best “tsundere” songs ever, haha. The mastered version included in the album actually sounds much much better than the original. If you are a fan of this song you will like it even more now.

One more song that I know plenty of Vocaloid fans are psyched about, but which I honestly don’t care for is hachiP’s “Wonderland and Sheep’s Song”. A quick look at the video below will show you the PV that greatly contributed to its fame, a wonderfully animated piece that some fans much more cultured than I say is strongly influenced by the Studio Ghibli style. I do think that Miku’s voice is very well tuned here.

Some of the “anchor” songs for this album, aka the more well known titles that help generate interest include: DixieFlatline’s “Just be Friends”, cosmoP’s Rampage of Len Kagamine, and also JimmythumbP’s Starduster (something that will always help you fall asleep).The only other song that falls in the “hit” category, at least for the average Western fan is likely PapiyonP’s “Eh? Ah, Sou”, a song that is equal parts funky, odd, and yet catchy.

For Vocaloid fans looking to support some of the artists who make the songs they love this really is a great purchase to do that with. You are definitely getting what you pay for as a collectible and the music set is definitely top notch and mainstream so that there is a little something to please everyone.

Sorry for a slow down in posting the past few days but the blog admin page has been giving us some problems, making it almost impossible to post. Be sure to check back this weekend for a continuation of the At a Glance series as well as one more “Out of the Box Post”, this time featuring my new 1/8 size Kasugano Sora PVC figure by Megahouse. (love). Good night!

Posted on October 23, 2010, in Merchandise, Vocaloid and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: